Read This Book If You Like History

0 Comments

“lucrez De Europa” is the first novel written by dark horse author, Miguel Lopez de Leon. I had never heard of this author before and found the book to be an interesting little tale about an author trying to write about a subject that he is very passionate about yet had never really delved into before. The book starts out as the author is in search for the real facts behind his much loved subject, Lucrez, a former Spanish dictator, and what really took place during the time Lucrez was in power. I found myself very interested by what the author was able to bring to light here.

Lucrez In Europa

 

I enjoyed reading the first part of the book, the history lesson part, because it really made me think about some of the things that were happening at the time in history that shaped our world today. While the subject matter itself is interesting, the way that this story was told, especially with such a short story, kept me reading through to the very end. I’m not sure if I liked the way the story was told, but I found it captivating overall. I especially enjoyed the part where the author takes a look at how people interpret different historical figures, and why it was important to them. Reading about this in the first person felt a bit personal to me, which I can’t say for all of Lopez’s work. However, if you are a history buff and enjoy the occasional bit of historical information to keep yourself interested, this book will probably interest you- Lucrez In Europa

 

The main story line of the book takes place in the period right after the Fall of the Roman Catholic Church and the rise of the Spanish Republic. While this book is not historically accurate (as it really isn’t relevant to what happened during these times), it does make a good read for first time readers. One thing that the book did well was that it kept its humor while still staying true to the story. That’s not always easy to do, but Lopez did it in a way that many first time readers will find enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *